Not able to sort submission based on unique ID value.

  • Profile Image
    Asked on August 01, 2020 at 11:49 AM



    Yes, I use the Unique Widget now. It populates the sheet as text not numeric so trying to sort will not work correctly. I have reported this in the past and it has not been corrected.

    If you sort by date or submission id it will sort correctly but not by Unique ID widget. Try it your self, note you need a submission count greater then 20 to see the error.

    This image demonstrates the problem. Note where number 2 starts. 

    Thank you, Robert


  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 01, 2020 at 12:17 PM

    I am sorry for the trouble caused to you. I did check your form "Fun@Home-XIII" and found that though you have added "Unique ID" widget in form but you have not set the "Number of Digits" property correctly. You seem to have added "00" instead of the number of digit. Please check the screenshot below:


    If you want 00 then you need to add "2" in the property. It is the number of digit that you need to set. Please try it out in a new form or by adding additional "Unique ID" widget in form and that will solve your problem. 

    Hope this helps.

    Do get back to us if you have any questions. 

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 02, 2020 at 12:04 PM

    OK, I will check this... Although I do not believe this will resolve the issue... I will let you know.

    I have a form that i use for testing, 202127041055945, using the same format as above form. 


  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 03, 2020 at 10:41 AM


    I stand corrected, Unique ID will sort properly if setup correctly. If there is a numeric value in the Prefix it will not work, if there is no prefix or it is only text then it works as expected. I noted that the column is created as a TEXT column, this probably contributes to the issue.

    The two images illustrate the issue very well.

    Now that I understand how this works, and putting the correct value in the widget option box as explained, I should have no difficulty with the widget now on, I thank you!


    Great help, As Always...🥇

     All the best, Robert

  • Profile Image
    Answered on August 03, 2020 at 11:43 AM

    We're glad to hear that everything is sorted out on your end now. 

    Do let us know if you need any further assistance.